RSS Feed

Miss Kelly

Last night Diego had his Open House. 

Once we got home my Facebook status read:

“My baby stood up in front of 50 parents, spoke 3 lines and made it through both songs. He and his wonderful teacher Ms Kelly are amazing! Never underestimate the power of a teacher that cares. I am forever grateful to her.”

Despite the sensory nightmare that was last night Diego managed to get through the entire evening with out melting down once, and he even participated in the performance.  He looked pained through a lot of it, but he got through like a champ.  The first thing Kelly said to me after they got off stage was “HE DID IT!!!”. 

I just cried and thanked her.

When I first met with Miss Kelly, I was pretty positive that she wasn’t going to be a good fit for Diego.  She came off  immature, slightly arrogant, and would cut me off before I was done with my sentences.  I would soon learn that I was very wrong.  I think she may have thought that I was crazy overbearing psycho mom. 

Maybe I am a little bit 🙂

During the  first month of school Kelly and I hit a few bumps.  But after that first month, Miss Kelly fell in love with Diego (her words).   She knows how to manage Diego and the plethora of behaviors that he comes with.  I take comfort in knowing that Diego is ok when he is with her. 

Emails like this prove to me everyday that we are incredibly blessed to have her as his teacher:

Super day! Diego had EXCELLENT restaurant manners and was such a good kid : )Loved his share too…. only that little guy would find a way to bring sea animals and the world together ; ) Loved it!”

and

Great day Shivon! I can’t express how much I love that little guy and how his silly little faces and smiles get me through the day.  Today I asked him if he would stay in Kindergarten forever and he gladly replied, “Sure!”

and

“D was a trooper today- K let me know about his early pickup and I forgot to remind R before I went to lunch.  My heart dropped when Diego already had on his green fieldtrip shirt and was sleepily walking to use the restroom when I came back from my break.  LUCKILY, he wasn’t phased at all when I informed him that you were getting him early! Looks like our little man is adjusting better to change : )”

She is such a gift.

I thank her every time I talk to her, because I feel like my simple words just aren’t adequate enough to convey the depth of my gratitude to her.  To prepare for next year she has even offered to accompany me to Diego’s IEP meeting.  I expressed to her that I didn’t want her to lose pay as she will be missing work to attend and she looked me square in the eye and said “I want to be there”. 

Once this school year ends I will miss having her as Diego’s teacher , but am happy knowing that we will always have her as our friend 🙂

About sonidoinquieto

I hate writing bios *bio pending*

6 responses »

  1. Hello all! I don’t know if my sister will blog about this, and I didn’t ask her if I could do this hahaha, but we have started a chipin page for D to get an IPad! This is the only Mother’s Day gift Shivon is asking for, so please visit the page and do what you can. Thank you!
    Oh and sorry Shivmo if you didn’t want to post it here LOL. Luv Ya!
    http://forourdiego.chipin.com/my-grandson-needs-an-ipad-please-help

    Reply
  2. 🙂 This reminds me about the type of teacher that I want to become. I’m so glad she is helping you all make progress with Diego! Yay!

    Reply
  3. Fi (Wonderfully Wired Mum)

    I’m smiling too 🙂

    That is such wonderful news, and it makes your day just that little bit less stressful knowing that he is in such capable hands.
    X

    Reply
  4. So happy for you and Diego, you both DESERVE IT!! And speaking as a former educator, we love moms like you, don’t worry!

    Reply
  5. What a wonderful teacher, it is such a blessing when your child gets such a caring person to help them at school.

    Reply
  6. I am smiling ear to ear. A teacher like that is precious. so glad he had her this year, and I’m glad she’ll be there to help you transition him to next year!!

    Reply

Leave a Reply

