RSS Feed

When ‘They’ Just Don’t Get It and When ‘They’ Randomly Do.

This Thanksgiving will be spent with just our immediate family….those who live in our house, my sister and a couple of friends.  This is my first Thanksgiving like this and unfortunately has been surrounded by way too much drama.  For fear of making a bad situation worse, I won’t blog about the details.  Just know it really sucks when one of  the people closest  to you is so wrapped up in themselves and won’t get ‘it’.

The ‘it’ being referred to is autism.

The situation is heartbreaking.

But I am doing my best to throw on my happy face and resist the temptation to fix it. 

It just  isn’t my place to fix this situation…

Which is so difficult because I am a fixer to the core.

On top of family drama, I have to ‘share’ D with his dad this Thanksgiving  and if you have been reading my blog for a minute you know that situation can be pretty trying.

In the midst of all of this I am trying to breathe, not lose my holiday spirit, or my mind.

It will be ok.

It has to be.

Some great news!

Dino Dan’s real life came across my blog about Dino Dan (random right??) and Diego’s love affair with the show.  She told the real life Dan (Jason Spevack) about Diego and  ‘Dan’ is going to send D a letter and a picture. 

D may just completely lose his mind :). 

Poor woman she probably thought I was a looney tune when she read my reply…lol….I couldn’t stop thanking her.

I will be sure to have the camera ready when he opens his letter.

I had a parent-teacher conference with Diego’s teacher yesterday, he needs to work on all of the things I am already pretty aware of, fine motor, self-regulation, social skills, personal space, etc….bottom line here though is that Diego’s teacher is amazing.  She gets ‘it’ and I was very concerned that she wouldn’t based on our first meeting.  I am happy that I was wrong….very wrong. She told me that our daily emails that brainstorming ways to help Diego be successful in Kindergarten really help her.   After speaking with her yesterday it really seems like she has taken a personal involvement in helping Diego, thus enabling me to breathe when he is with her during the day.  I am so happy that we got this opportunity to ease Diego into an academic environment.  I think that when Diego goes to public school next year, that I will decide to have him repeat Kindergarten.  He will need it especially when you think about the fact that it will be a new school with new kids, and completely different from the place he is at now.   

Agh…decisions…decisions

About sonidoinquieto

I hate writing bios *bio pending*

4 responses »

  1. You must post the video when he goes bat guano when he opens that Dino Dan letter. 🙂 We chose to have M held back and repeat Kindy, and he’s not even fully mainstreamed (only a couple hours a day). It was the right choice for him. Good luck with the family drama.

    Reply
  2. I’m going to be totally superficial today and just say how THRILLED I am about Dino Dan, that is so cool! Please let us know what his face looks like when he sees that photo!

    Reply
  3. breathe. sometimes the very best places to be are safe and sound with our own little families – no judgement, just love.

    as for next year, you’ll know what he needs and you’ll get it. it’s what we do. love the teacher, love dino dan, love you 🙂

    Reply
  4. The holidays are really just another day, please don’t put too much pressure on yourself or the day. Breathe and enjoy the good that comes, because there will be good. I used to hang so much on the holidays, it took me a couple years to realize that I can make it special even if it’s not full tilt like I imagined. Sorry about the drama and having to share-I know that’s not easy (and not because you are not generous, we know that you are!)

    I am excited to hear about D’s teacher! The best relief to know that those who are working with him get “it.” I get that.

    Happy Thanksgiving to you and yours. I’m so thankful that I’ve “met” you Shivon!

    Reply

Leave a Reply

