RSS Feed

Lesson Learned

Dueb to less than stellar (this is the understatement of the year)  experiences growing up  I have always been very skeptical of people and their intentions. 

I just never defaulted to the ‘people are generally good’ thought process.

It is sad…

I know…

but

as the years have passed I have gotten a little bit better.

Especially this past year.

I have ‘met’ some pretty amazing women that are just innately good people.

Beth has been one of them.

So the story of Nik’s iPad goes like so…..

Beth posted a super adorable pic of Nik using his borrowed iPad on Facebook sometime last week and the gears in my head started to turn. After a week of madness here at home, I decided to put my plan into action

I emailed Jess on Friday and asked her if she thought Beth would be ok with us trying to raise money to get Nik an iPad of his own. 

Then Jess emailed around and got a great idea from Shannon for fundraising. 

ChipIn.com.

I emailed Beth and asked her if it would be ok with her, if I plastered Nik and his story all over the place to raise some money for an iPad.

She agreed.

Monday it was on!!

I was sick and at home, so I had plenty of time to promote away.

Then

other people

donated

and

promoted.

Beth would send me updates on what was coming in because the chipin widget was wacky and as each email came in with a higher dollar amount, my hope just increased.

I thought ‘Holy sh*t!! We really might do this!!’

We raised 850 dollars in less than 2 days.

I am still reeling from the response to help Nik find a way to kick autism’s ass.

In fact people are still emailing me to ask if they can still donate for apps and accessories. (which you can, see the blog entry below)

I also learned one hell of a lesson….

that

maybe

just maybe

not all people are shady, evil monsters…

You all are amazing.

Thank you so much

About sonidoinquieto

I hate writing bios *bio pending*

2 responses »

  1. like, like, like

    Reply
  2. Congrats, and lovely that you did it!

    Reply

Leave a Reply

