RSS Feed

Long Night

Sweet holy autism Batman!!

Last night Diego was the most deregulated, hyper, irritable that I have EVER seen him.  He was a stimming mess choosing to walk in circles while biting his hands, or jumping on everyone/everything in the house seeking sensory input.  Nonsense words took the place of the proper names of things.

No matter what I did nothing helped. 

At one point he was sweating and red in the face because he had been running himself silly, it was too cool here at 6 o’clock here in San Diego for anyone to be sweating.     His therapist also noted that Diego was extremely out of sorts at their visit yesterday. 

But we made it.

Barely.

Sleep didn’t come for awhile and it wasn’t peaceful as he was tossing and turning all night.

*sigh* My monster 😦

We are set to start the Tenex this weekend.  Diego’s father has of course refused to give him any of the medication. I have worked it out with Diego’s aunt and she will give it to him at night and I will have the school give it to him in the morning when Diego is with his father once a week.  I spent a good 30 minutes attempting to discuss the specifics of the med, the people I spoke with regarding its safety and he wouldn’t hear any of it.  He is just doing it to be difficult, as his argument is not medically based just bitter and angry.

In the future if this keeps up and I can’t find a way around it, we will be in court….again

I hate court.

As if autism weren’t hard enough, I have to continue to deal with him…blah

It is August which means school is starting on the 30th, and I have been trying to get everyone together for Diego’s transitional IEP meeting and not let the anxiety about Kindergarten show. 

But my stomach is in knots. 

I am not sleeping, and top of this it is time for D’s yearly pysch eval with the woman he initially saw a year ago, whose report came up inconclusive. 

I am meeting with her August 13th and the eval isn’t being done until October. 

Should be interesting at best.

I have NEVER had a good experience with the neuropsych…EVER…but will come prepared 🙂

About sonidoinquieto

I hate writing bios *bio pending*

4 responses »

  1. Things are usually more difficult in the summer. No promises, but I’ve always seen improvement in the fall, hang in there, you’re doing great!

    Reply
  2. Hello. I just wanted to say:

    Hey Robin this is Batgirl. lol I just wanna let you know that everything will be ok and things will get better with time. As for the father sometimes people just don’t understand that they have to do what’s best for everyone and not only for themselves. Believe when I tell you I know what your going through with your son. I have 7 kids and two of them are Autistic, my 18 year old and my 4 year old. So I have been where you are. If you ever need anyone to talk to I’ve been told I’m a good listener. Try me.

    Reply
  3. Hey Robin this is Batgirl. lol I just wanna let you know that everything will be ok and things will get better with time. As for the father sometimes people just don’t understand that they have to do what’s best for everyone and not only for themselves. Believe when I tell you I know what your going through with your son. I have 7 kids and two of them are Autistic, my 18 year old and my 4 year old. So I have been where you are. If you ever need anyone to talk to I’ve been told I’m a good listener. Try me.

    Reply
  4. ugh. hang in there. hopefully the hard times will balance out with good ones when school starts. It stinks that his father isn’t supportive – that just isn’t right and you don’t need that stress. Hope you were able to get some sleep.

    Reply

Leave a Reply

