RSS Feed

One less thing…

One thing down…

Many more to go….

Court is done, and everything I coud ask for to ensure Diego will get what he needs on a regular basis was approved by the judge.  In fact, Diego’s father didn’t even show up. 

Random right??

But prayers were answered and I am so thankful for that.

As I was filling my sister in she made a comment that I didn’t seem to happy about the outcome.  I had to explain to her that this is very bittersweet for me.  It is foreign to me to take a child away from a parent he loves so much and only allow a single weekly overnight visit, I know how much Diego loves his daddy.  But at the same time I can’t argue the fact that over the past two months (since spending this decreased time with his father) that Diego hasn’t had a single violent tantrum and his language has improved significantly.  Just yesterday Diego’s teacher commented that Diego is really using his language much better in school and at home he is saying please and thank you without being prompted about half of the time.  At the end of all of this it isn’t about me or Diego’s father, it is about what is ultimately best for Diego. 

So that is done. 

I will say that I am alarmed that the courts seem to have such little knowledge about autism.  Even my attorney mixed up sensory diet vs food diet for D.  We don’t do the GF/CF diet but when she presented my case to the judge she mixed the two up for the umpteenth time, even though I have explained to her a dozen times what a sensory diet is. 

I snickered in court when she made the mistake again…man all of that money she charges and she still couldn’t get it right…lol…whatever… it is done!

When all is said and done, it really is the things that seem so little to others that are major to me and keep me going.

About sonidoinquieto

I hate writing bios *bio pending*

5 responses »

  1. I’m so glad for you. That is good news about the court decision.

    Reply
  2. the fact that he didn’t show up says it all, sister. you’re doing the right thing. love.

    Reply
  3. therocchronicles

    So glad things worked out the way you wanted them too and you’re right–it’s about what is best for D. Awesome to hear about him using his language more! and less tantrums–that’s really something to celebrate! (and I can vouch for that!)

    Reply
  4. Been reading but not had the brain power to comment on much lately. :-/
    SO glad things worked out for the best for Diego. Am looking forward to reading more about the good stuff that I sense is coming your way. 🙂

    Reply
  5. Shivon, I know this whole experience must have been so difficult. You have handled it with strength and grace, and Diego will be the better for it. Hang in there, I’m happy you got the result you wanted.

    Reply

Leave a Reply

