RSS Feed

Happy Birthday Diego!!

Diego’s birthday party started in true to (our) life random form.  Our new neighbor of 5 days had a lady friend over and she decided that it was appropriate to start the morning, at 9am, ranting and raving about the child’s birthday party that was obviously going to happen.  I spoke with the young man(who seemed at that moment like he dabbled in recreational drugs) and informed him that it would only be for a few hours and that I apologized for any inconvenience that it may cause.  

Good right?? 

I was pretty pissed off but kept my PR temper at bay and put on a smile. 

He said no problem and walked away… 

Well about an hour and a half later I heard a commotion outside and asked R to check it out.  He asked the boys to go to their room and then told me that the young lady was yelling and throwing things at the jumper….naked… 

Yes you read that correctly. 

The crazy ass girl was OUTSIDE BUCK NAKED!! 

I looked around to make sure there were no cameras ala “Candid Camera” and unfortunately there were not.  R went outside to talk to the boyfriend and I calmly walked over to said crazy lady and asked her to stop throwing things at the jumper.  Then she yelled at me and I barked back for a second.  Then realized that I was crazy to be arguing with a naked woman obviously on drugs….I told her I would call the police if she came out again and walked away.  Shortly after I came inside R did as well and said that the guy would keep her inside. 

Only us I swear. 

We don’t live in the hood, our house is in a family area, and come on it was a kids birthday party in the middle of the day on a Saturday! 

Thankfully she stayed inside and the day went on without incident. 

The actual party was a success.  I had spent the entire week prior using my imagination to make Phineas and Ferb come to life complete with 

“Pin the Tail on Perry the Platypus” 

 

shark fin party hats made by mom and sister, poster board surf boards on the walls, whatever Phineas and Ferb decor I could find (which wasn’t much!), and shark cupcakes (made with the help of auntie Candace).  

All of the children seemed to have a great time.  I made a designated “quiet room” for those kids that needed it and a few did including my own.  It was awesome to see some of our friends from D’s social skills group and the progress that they have made.  Diego even self-regulated and hung out in the “quiet room” for a break all on his own. I was so excited when my mom told me she found him in there that I cried. 

All of the preparation worked!!  

We talked about the “quiet room” for the week leading up to the party and I am so happy it worked.  So besides the rocky start the party went well.   I know this because, later that evening, my mom and I were discussing the party and without looking up from playing with his sea animals Diego simply said 

“That was so great mom” 

I was over the moon.  All of the preparation and work was worth it when I heard him say that :). 

I think that his next birthday will be a bit smaller as 20 kids was a bit much and I would have liked to help Diego interact more.  I will post some pics when my mom sends them my way….she was in charge of photo taking…*ahem* 🙂 

My handmade shark costume was a slight hit with D, but I won’t know for a few days.  Diego never gets very excited about gifts in general and the shark costume requires him to work his imagination.  So we will see. 

A very happy Diego in his birthday shark fin hat

 ***After hearing about the incident, our wonderful landlord asked the young man to move the next day and he is no longer there..I didn’t expect her to do that but I am so thankful she did!***

About sonidoinquieto

I hate writing bios *bio pending*

6 responses »

  1. therocchronicles

    Naked neighbors–whoo-hoo! Thank goodness they moved! whew!

    Sounds like the party was a success. So glad he enjoyed himself. The quiet room was a great idea. Good job all around!

    Reply
  2. I about died laughing when I saw that post on FB on Saturday!!! You know, at least she was only throwing stuff at the jumper instead of trying to get into it all naked and …ewwww! Glad the landlord made them move!

    Even MORE glad to see that huge grin on Diego’s face! You win major awesome-mom points, my dear! So glad it all worked out so well. 🙂

    Reply
  3. What a wonderful landlord. I’m glad the party went well and all your hard work paid off.

    Reply
  4. Hooooooray!!! Sounds like a perfect party all around! The ‘quiet room’ is inspired!

    Truthfully, I’m kinda bummed the naked lady’s gone. I was looking forward to the stories. Lol

    Reply
  5. Wow. You win for crazy neighbors. Glad they moved. And glad your guy had a good time!

    Reply
  6. Awesome to hear about how much Diego loved his party! What a great mom you are! Well done!
    And *ahem*, Glad the neighbours have moved!
    Crikey!

    Reply

Leave a Reply

