RSS Feed

A Different Kind of Mother’s Day

I remember posting a blog on Mother’s day when Diego was still a baby. In that blog I explored how hard it must be to parent a child with special needs, and wrote that I could never really handle all that those super moms handled everyday. 

Fast forward 4 years, my life now revolves around my child with special needs and so far I have been able to pull through it. 

Granted some days the thought of a padded room in the west wing of my hospital sounds like a vacation, but I am still doing it.

We are still doing it.

Through Diego’s challenges God has shown me that I am much stronger than  I ever thought I could be.  I can survive soul crushing news. I can pick up all of the pieces of my broken heart, glue them back together and pick them up again when my heart has shattered for the third time in a week.  I have learned that emotional pain can manifest itself physically when severe enough. 

I now celebrate things most parents do not, like how Diego pretended he was a dog yesterday, or how he championed through writing on his Nana’s mother’s day card.  These things required so much from my little boy.  If Diego’s fight to succeed is any indication (and I think it is) of how he will handle life’s challenges I am quite sure he is going to be an exceptional man.

I see Lyric in a different light as he leads his brother in life and am comforted that when I am gone, he will be here to watch over his brother.  Lyric is such a great son and brother and is going to be such an amazing husband and father when he is older.

And the best part of all of this is that I have something to do with how amazing my two boys are. 

I am beyond blessed that God chose ME to be their mother.

On a slightly different topic I need to thank every mother that I have met online through blogging.  Each one of you have been a light in many dark times.  Happy Mother’s Day to you ladies, your perseverance and dedication to your children is inspirational.

About sonidoinquieto

I hate writing bios *bio pending*

7 responses »

  1. blackknightsbrood

    “God has shown me that I am much stronger than I ever thought I could be.”

    Yes, when our kids need, we find the strength, don’t we? And on the days we feel sapped out, we’ve got someone to lean on whose strength knows no limits.

    Happy Mother’s Day!

    Reply
  2. Belated happy mothers day. Such an honest and true blog post. Thank you. Your boys are blessed to have you gracious lady.

    Reply
  3. Happy belated Mother’s Day…you’re beautiful!

    Reply
  4. to you as well, my dear friend ,. to you as well. love the new look, by the way.

    Reply
  5. Never underestimate the power of a mother’s love. Yours shines through so bright and clear in everything you write about BOTH your children. I hope you had a wonderful mother’s day full of love, laughter, and unexpected gifts. 🙂

    Reply
  6. And YOUR perseverance and dedication inspires me too 🙂
    Happy Mother’s Day !

    Reply
  7. We are mothers in a way we never thought we would be, and we are so much better for it. Happy Mother’s Day to you too lovely lady!

    Reply

Leave a Reply

