RSS Feed

questions, questions, and more questions

I met with Dr. Lincoln today.  I gave him observation reports from Diego’s teacher,psychologist and everybody and their momma that have evaluated D in various settings.  Dr Lincoln asked a lot of questions and spent a lot of time typing.  He said that he would like to see Diego for an assessment in a few weeks and at that time would tell me if he thinks that Diego is on the autism spectrum.  The appointment is scheduled for April 28th.  I don’t know what to think or do, I am in limbo and I HATE limbo. 

Then on my way out of the appointment my cell phone rang and it was our pediatrician, the blood work for genetic defects came back normal, but he Karyotype test was another story.  D has something called a balanced translocation on 1 & 4 on the long arm of the chromosome at 21&22. 

 What the hell does that mean you ask?? 

I have no clue and neither does his pediatrician, it may mean nothing, it may mean something. 

Those answers will have to wait until I see the geneticist.

So no answers….just more questions.

On top of that I dont think I answered Dr Lincoln’s pronoun question correctly and now fear I might tarnish my credibility with him when Diego says I, you, him, her all over the place in the assessment.

LOL….

Yes…Seriously….

*sigh*

I just don’t want to mess up what seems our last hope.

Should I call and leave him a message that D does indeed use all of the pronouns??

If Dr Lincoln’s two hour assessment doesn’t come up conclusive, what happens then??

Then does D just have a language, social skills, fine motor, visual motor delay along with the sensory processing disorder??…..ummm sounds like ASD to me.

I guess a better question is why am I so anxious about this??

I think part of my anxiety is the experience with the first psychologist, but I am better prepared this time…it isn’t just my word anymore, I have documentation from others to back it up.

Another factor is I need them too see it now because the therapy regimen we are doing doesn’t seem to be helping and the ABA he needs won’t get covered without an autism diagnosis.

I know what this is and if they don’t see it now, they will see it all later.

I just hope it isn’t too late. 😦

I’m tired and feel at the mercy of complete strangers. 

Not a good feeling.

Next??

Speech evaluation and a meeting with my attorney because Diego’s father has gone back on his word and wants nothing to do with supporting Diego’s therapies.

I am so sad about all of this.

But I’m gonna try to take all of this one day at a time.

About sonidoinquieto

I hate writing bios *bio pending*

One response »

  1. Believe that you are in the hands of god, and he is watching over you. Also know that I love you with all my heart and wish I could make it all go away. Since i can’t I will just be here for you

    Reply

Leave a Reply

