RSS Feed

Reality

I took Diego to see his new therapist yesterday.  UBH denied my appeal for the one that specializes in ASD’s. But again it seems that God has plans and sometimes they are different from mine.  This new therapist was recommended to me by a co-worker whose son has Asperger’s and she is covered by my insurance. The appointment went great, she has a psychological assistant that has a lot of experience with children on the spectrum and she is on top of things herself.  I was impressed by the fact that they were able to have a full understanding of how Diego’s sensory issues directly affect his behavior.  They want to take a team approach with Diego having therapy twice a week with the one  therapist and then I will meet with the other therapist once a week to work on parenting. Our schedule is going to be full with therapy, OT, and speech.  I have to find a way to make this work with my job!!

Sometimes Diego’s challenges are not so obvious to me.  Maybe it’s because I am around Diego all of the time and am used to them. Friday at work one of my patients brought his son in, who is about 2 months younger than Diego and the difference hit me….hard.  My baby isn’t where he “should” be and while I thought that I had comes to terms with this, Friday it knocked me upside the head and it hurt.  Sometimes this happens, I mean I obviously know that Diego has deficits, but *sigh* i dont know..it just hits me harder some days…clarity…reality…it all is what it is. I also got another smack upside the head yesterday, meeting with the new therapist. 

It’s been a rough weekend emotionally for me.  A few things have been added to my plate including officially filing for more custody of Diego.  I really didn’t want to have to get the courts involved again. I held out hope for a quite a while that Diego’s dad would get on board with what is happening with his son, but he refuses and it is really affecting Diego.

I really just want to crawl in bed and cry, but there is no time for that and it will give me a headache :)…I am not sure how I am going to juggle everything, but I am trying to have faith that it will all work out.  One day at a time.  So off to get some coffee and break out the Christmas decorations.  According to Diego we are “late for Christmas”  so decorating the house is of the utmost importance today 🙂

About sonidoinquieto

I hate writing bios *bio pending*

One response »

  1. I hope the decorating is going well. We’re late for Christmas too. I love that way of putting it! Colin and I drove around tonight looking at the decorated houses. He just LOVES the ones with all the inflatable snowmen and Santas. The more in one yeard, the better. Ick…but he laughs and laughs.

    Reply

Leave a Reply

